Why I quit using Kubuntu and where I found my refuge

I has recently spoken of my experiences with kubuntu 9.04

Today I removed it from my system, due to several reasons, most on the functionality side.

  1. KDE4 would not remember the settings. My desktop widgets would get reset on every boot. (this alone is a deal breaker)
  2. Sound wouldn’t work fine. multiple sources of sound/flash problem (I needed it! youtube and media player)
  3. Microphone wouldn’t work out-of-the-box (need Skype)
  4. Hard disk drives would not auto mount. had to be mounted by typing the password each time.
  5. The themes weren’t really appealing. The plasma desktop, however was.
  6. General appeal. To quote Srik, “I always have this weird feeling that everything in Ubuntu is oversized.” I share the feeling.

Anyway, I truly couldn’t make myself try anything that did not have wubi to set it up. (separate partitions just aren’t necessary) Ubuntu, Kubuntu – tried both this month. The next release is in August, I think.
So here was my saviour… (drumroll…) LinuxMint

  1. Cool looks (yeah, its important to me)
  2. Things work out of the box (yea, Sabayon style on debian platform :P)
  3. They have a good story behind it. I liked the story (the {clem} paragraph in the About page)
  4. Everything I expect to work works (yea- graphics, flash, wireless, apt-get, drivers, codecs – you name it!)
  5. Zero post-install customization necessary (installing apps, drivers, fixing things.. )

I have further more respect for Ubuntu now, seeing that things like Linux Mint can be built on it.
Linux Mint 7 will surely stand high in the rankings of my experiences with linux distributions, and will be my current recommended distro for new users.

One Response to Why I quit using Kubuntu and where I found my refuge

  1. I’ve never used Wubi (honestly, I find it unnecessary and cumbersome, compared to the freedom of controlling the partitions myself, and I always prefer not to be tethered to windows), but I have tried KDE4 and I despise it. I know it is still basically beta software, but it is buggy and unintuitive compared to Gnome, and ugly and bloated compared to fluxbox/openbox. So, I stick with Ubuntu.

    I have also never tried Mint, but it looks like a fancy shell put over Ubuntu to appeal to newbies, so you might be on to something. Last I checked it didn’t even have a 64-bit build (I’m sure this has changed… can’t be bothered to check now), and it seemed that the major features boasted on the website were things I’d rather do myself in Ubuntu: a pretty desktop (I always like to customize my desktop look myself) and things working out-of-the-box (does it use the latest 64-bit alpha flash build? what java jre? I want to choose these things myself). Of course, for the target audience, Mint seems great, though I still recommend plain Ubuntu to newbies — bigger community, more tutorials, etc.

Leave a Reply

